Sluggish VMware Console

I have been meaning to post this simple fix for a while now but I’m been ridiculously busy over the past several months.  I hope to get back into the routine of blogging again more frequently.

Anyway, after I installed Windows Server 2008 R2 on a few VMs that I created, I noticed that video performance was sluggish when using the VMware Console.  This is an easy fix but it’s a pain.  Here’s what I did to resolve the issue.

Update the Driver to Fix It!

  1. Login to Windows Server 2008 R2 on the VM.
  2. Click Start and in the search box type either compmgmt.msc or Computer Management–whichever one that you like.
  3. In the Computer Management console select Device Manager.  In the center pane (or right pane if you do not have the Actions pane open), expand Display adapters.
  4. Right-click on the display adapter that appears and select Update Driver Software… from the context menu.
  5. Select Browse my computer for driver software.
  6. In the Search for driver software in this location: box, type or browse to: C:\Program Files\Common Files\VMware\Drivers\wddm_video.  Click the Next button.
  7. The search should find the VMware SVGA 3D (Microsoft Corporation – WDDM) driver.  Click the Close button and Yes to restart the computer.

Perform these steps after you have installed VMware Tools.