Banging My Head

Today and late yesterday I was banging my head on the wall trying to install SharePoint 2010 on a newly imaged server running Windows Server 2008 R2.  I ran the Pre-Requisite Installer (i.e. PreRequisiteInstaller.exe) found on the media for SharePoint 2010.  I was consistently getting the error message from the wizard along the lines of the installation failed due to a pending restart of the computer.

I took a look at the log files and found these entries in the log that gave a hint as to what might be the issue.

Install process returned (0X3E9=1001)
[In HRESULT format] (0X800703E9=-2147023895)
Last return code (0X3E9=1001)
Error: A pending restart blocks the installation

I looked around for answer but could find nothing.  That would directly resolve the issue.  So I went out to Windows Updates and applied all of the latest updates and this somehow resolved it for me.

Just wanted to pass this along just in case anyone else was having an issue with this.

P.S. I am aware that some people have fixed this issue by editing or deleting a few keys in the registry but this did not resolve the issue for me.  I’d encourage you to try those first to see if they work.